1954 $1 replacement radar

General discussions about canadian banknnotes.
ewsmith

1954 $1 replacement radar

Post by ewsmith » Tue Nov 08, 2022 6:20 am

This bill was on sale at a local auction recently. It was part of a group of 26 one dollar bills. The rest were common bills from 1967 and 1973. This was the only one from 1954. I am new to collecting banknotes but I assume a replacement bill with a 3-digit radar would be quite rare.

The auction picture had all 26 bills so it didn’t show this bill very clearly. I went to see it and took this close-up picture. I didn’t think at the time to get a picture of the back. The highlighter marks did bleed through and are visible on the back of the bill.

I was in the bidding for the bills until it got up to about $175 (including fees and taxes). I estimate that the other 25 bills were not worth much more than face value, maybe $50 in total to be generous. I wasn’t willing to pay more for this one since I didn’t have a clue what it would be worth, especially with the highlighter marks.

I was struck by how precise the highlighter marks are over the serial numbers. It was clearly done very deliberately. I would be curious to know how much this bill would be worth had it not been marked up, and how much those marks diminish the value. Without the marks I would say it is about EF, but that’s just a guess.

ewsmith

Re: 1954 $1 replacement radar

Post by ewsmith » Tue Nov 08, 2022 6:24 am

1954 modified replacement radar.jpg
1954 modified replacement radar.jpg (654.91 KiB) Viewed 3944 times

Nota_phil

Post by Nota_phil » Tue Nov 08, 2022 5:48 pm

I was struck by how precise the highlighter marks are over the serial numbers. It was clearly done very deliberately. I would be curious to know how much this bill would be worth had it not been marked up, and how much those marks diminish the value. Without the marks I would say it is about EF, but that’s just a guess.