Trade dollars and municipal tokens - Coins and Canada

You are: Home » Tokens and medals » Trade dollars and municipal tokens

Municipal trade tokens of Canada

Usually referred as Canadian Trade Dollars, these tokens are generally sponsored by a local non-profit organization and given legal monetary value in a specific area and for a limited time by the appropriate local authority. They are used as money in normal commercial transaction during the period of validity even if they have no legal tender value and or not recognized by law. These tokens have been issued, however, for commemorative and fund raising purposes since 1958.

This section presents different trade dollars and municipal tokens of Canada. The links below will guide you to the description and characteristics of these types of tokens and see various errors, varieties and values.


Athabasca District, Banff, Banff / Lake Louise, Barrhead, Brooks, Calgary, Cardston, Claresholm, Cochrane, Crowsnest Pass, Drumheller, Edmonton, Edson, Falher, Fort McMurray, Fort Vermilion, Fox Creek, Grande Cache, Grande Prairie, High Level, High Prairie, Hinton, Innisfail, Jasper, Lac La Biche, Leduc, Lethbridge, Marwayne, Mayerthorpe, McLennan District, Medicine Hat, Olds, Red Deer, Sherwood Park, St. Albert, St. Paul, Sylvan Lake, Vegreville, Vulcan, Wainwright, Wetaskiwin, Whitecourt, Wildwood Elks

British Columbia

Abbotsford, Barkerville, Burnaby, Campbell River, Chase, Chilliwack, Craigellachie, Creston, Dawson Creek, Delta, Fernie, Fort St. John, Gibsons, Golden, Hope and District, Kamloops, Kelowna, Kimberley, Kitimat, Ladysmith, Langley, Lillooet, Maple Ridge, McBride, Nanaimo, New Westminster, Okanagan, Osoyoos, Pacific Northwest Coast, Penticton, Port Alberni, Port Hardy, Port Moody, Prince George, Richmond, Salmon Arm, Sicamous, Squamish, Telkwa, Tsawwassen, Vancouver, Vernon, Victoria, Williams Lake


Boissevain, Brandon, Carman, Cartwright, Charleswood, Dauphin, Flin Flon, Glenboro, Gretna, Killarney, McCreary, Melita, Minitonas, Minnedosa, Morden, Morris, Portage La Prairie, Roblin, Shell River, Snow Lake, Steinback, Winnipeg

New Brunswick

Campbellton, Caraquet, Chatham, Chatham-Newcastle, Dalhousie, Dieppe, Fredericton, Moncton, Newcastle, Saint John, Shediac, St. Andrews, Woodstock


Change Islands, Channel/Port-Aux-Basques, Corner Brook, Eastport, Gander, Grand Falls/Windsor, Happy Valley/Goose Bay, Labrador City, Rigolet, St. John's, Steadybrook, Trinity Bight, Wabush

Northwest Territories

Hay River, Inuvik, Yellowknife

Nova Scotia

Amherst, Baddeck, Baie Sainte-Marie, Black Friday, Cape Breton, Claire, Clare, Darthmouth, Dartmouth, H.M.C. Dockyard, Halifax, Lunenburg, Mahone Bay, Queens County, Truro, Windsor, Wolfville, Yarmouth


Alexandria, Almonte, Ancaster, Arnprior & District, Bancroft, Bancroft and District, Barrie, Beckwith, Belleville, Bowmanville, Bracebridge, Brampton, Brantford, Cambridge, Chatham, Chesley, Cobourg, Cornwall, Durham, Elliot Lake, Espanola, Fergus, Fort Frances, Gravenhurst, Guelph, Hamilton, Harriston, Havelock, Kapuskasing, Kitchener/Waterloo, Lindsay, Lombardy, London, Longlac, Manitoulin, Mattice, Midland, Niagara Falls - Casino, Niagara Falls, Niagara-on-the-Lake, North Bay, Oakville, Oshawa, Ottawa, Parry Sound, Peterborough, Powassan, Rainy River, Sarnia, Sault Ste. Marie, Shelburne, Smiths Falls, St. Catharines, St. Thomas, Stratford, Sudbury, Temagami, Thunder Bay, Trenton, Walkerton, Wawa, Windsor, Woodstock

Prince Edward Island

Charlottetown, Greater Summerside


Amqui, Bic, Boucherville, Cap Chat, Cap Rouge, Charny, Chicoutimi, Granby, Jonquière et Desbiens, L'Épiphanie, Lac-St-Jean, Matane, Montmagny, Montreal, Nédelec, Perce, Pointe-au-Père, Pointe-aux-Trembles, Pointe-Claire, Quebec, Rimouski, Riviere-du-Loup, Rocher-Perce, Rouyn-Noranda, Saint-André-de-Kamouraska, Saint-Eloi, Saint-Roch de l'Achigan, Sainte-Anne-De-Beaupre, Sainte-Foy, Salaberry-de-Valleyfield, Sherbrooke, Trois-Pistoles, Trois-Rivières, Trois-Rivieres, Ville-Marie


Craven, Esterhazy, Estevan, Eston, Gravelbourg, Heritage Trail, Kamsack & District, Kamsack, Kerrobert, Kindersley, Lloydminster, Luseland, Maple Creek, Midale, Moose Jaw, Nipawin, North Battleford, Osler, Oxbow, Prince Albert, Radville, Regina, Region Three, Saskatoon, Shaunavon, Swift Current, Tisdale & District, Weyburn


Dawson, Whitehorse

Share this page:

Your subscription could not be saved. Please try again.
Your subscription has been successful.

Subscribe to our newsletter and stay updated.